Go to the Princess Superstar home page news photos discography dj press shows message forum audio and video lyrics order home


  • Ask PS's Mom
  • Bio
  • DJ Info
  • My Machine
  • Press Quotes

  • The Whole Story

    Platinum blonde lyrics that cut into the fabric of our society, class and looks that kill: this is Princess Superstar now, then and forever.

    Concetta Kirschner has her first taste of music from her parent's daily servings of 70'soul and rock in the suburbs of Philadelphia; tired of the quiet life, the Superstar, packs her belongings and at the age of 17 makes her return to her native New York. It's 1994, armed with a four track, guitar, keyboards, simple sampling and air tight lyrics, she cuts her first demo immediately receiving incredible hype from the underground and from the majors who recognized her talent and futuristic vision.

    After many tug of wars with majors she decides to release her first album, Stricly Platinum, on indie label 5th Beetle; co produced with Greg Talenfeld (Jon Spencer Blues Explosion) and Godfrey Diamond, best known for producing "Jungle Boogie" by Kool and the Gang.

    More wise and focused, the Superstar produces and self releases in 1997 her sophomore effort, CEO, which would defy critic's expectations and music industry categorization making her the archetype of a modern blend of hip hop and electronic music. It's the dawn of the new millennium and the renaissance lady of electro rap has her hands wrapped around every little aspect of the business…ending the century with yet another gem, Last of the 20th century composers, in collaboration with pioneers Prince Paul and Jon Spencer…Around and about her release date, she supports her album performing along side N.E.R.D., Bjork, Z-Trip and KRS-1.

    February 2002, Bad Babysitter enters the UK top 20 and is a staple for many months on MTV Europe and the Box's heavy rotation proving that one Princess can move the masses more effectively than a prince, a Queen Mother and a prime minister. The single is featured on the later released "Princess Superstar Is" album which featured collaborations with master MC Kool Keith, the rugged and raw Bahamadia, The High and Mighty, Jzone, Mista Sinista, Herbalizer and a special collaboration with Mercury Prize winner Beth Orton. When it comes to the Hip Hop game, the Princess has it on lock down and the critics go crazy!

    The unstoppable first lady then releases "Fuck me on the dance floor, produces by legendary ghetto-tech/ booty-bar impresario Disco D who has recently produced "Sky mask way" on 50 Cent's "The Massacre".

    Tearing the clubs up like fire, the Superstar throws down on the wheels of steel from London to Japan, hyping the crowd with her mash-ups between hip hop, electro and rock; playing along side with Alexander Technique, Felix the Housecat, Tiga, ?estlove of the Root, Miss Kittin, and just about every big DJ out there.

    Taking it to another level once again, she teams up with Alexander Technique, the king of mash-ups, to create the avalanche that is known on the dancefloor as DJs Are Not Rockstars driving people crazy throughout the globe; their self titled mix of 46 tracks mashed into 17 would then be unofficially released on Gigolo Records.

    During the few years to come, the Superstar dropped some science on the Prodigy's "Always out numbered…," which went to #1 on the UK charts in 2005; she also collaborated with Moby on his track "Jam for the Ladies" and on the recent Dr. Octagon record with Kool Keith.

    In 2005, her majesty upped the game by bringing on the road a live band including her long time live DJ, Alexander Technique, by creating a real life opus which would unfold the stories told in "My Machine": a concept album about a futuristic society inhabited by clones of the Superstar. Ironically, modern day vices are explored and superficiality is served cold dirty beats courtesy of Arthur Baker, Jacques Lu Cont, Alexander Technique and Junior Sanchez to name a few.

    2006 brings us the italo-disco collabo with "The Diskokaines" called "Lick the Alphabet" and "Rock a Boogie" out now. She also appears on the new Dr. Octagon record with Kool Keith on the track "Eat it." Upcoming appearances include tracks by The Glimmers, Fetisch, Agoria, Coburn, and Larry Tee with "Licky." As a remixer she has remixed tracks by CSS, Bassnectar, Fluffy Target and Datarock coming out soon.

    She is currently touring live with My Machine, and also doing crazy legendary dj sets around the world, so make sure you check it!

    2007 kicks off with a bang—her Mason vs. Princess Superstar remash of Perfect on Ministry of Sound came out January 22, debuting at #3 on the UK pop charts; and her Gigolo mix CD featuring 10 years of Gigolo Records came out in February 2007 featuring Vitalic, Miss Kittin, Traxx, Arbotique, Hell and more.

    Keep counting... she's Perfect!

    Current and Upcoming Releases:

    • Return of Dr. Octagon (with Kool Keith)- "Eat it" (Newsweek Magazine called it “The sexiest anti-war song of a generation!”)
    • Laidback Luke featuring Princess Superstar – "Goes Busters", Global Bookings, Konrad Global Records – Switzerland. This is a SICK remake of Ghostbusters that is tearing up dancefloors worldwide
    • Mr. & Mrs Cameron featuring Princess Superstar – "Computer", Challenge Records, Out now
    • Agoria featuring Princess Superstar - "Lips On Fire", Different Records, October 16
    • Glimmers featuring Princess Superstar – "I Want To Make Out" - Release TBA
    • The Amazing Adventures of DJ Yoda "Let’s Get Old" – Antidote Records, Release date October 2nd
    • Princess’ accapella of "Perfect" on the new Miss Kittin mix CD
    • Side project with Marflow, called The Diskokaines. New 12" "Rock a Boogie" featuring Legowelt and remixed by In Flagranti

    Princess has been busy remixing as well. Upcoming releases include:

    • CSS - Alala (Princess Superstar’s DNRS Remix) - Sup Pop Records (USA)
    • Datarock - Fa Fa Fa (Princess Superstar’s dirty disco NYC rabbit pearl remix) - Label (Norway)
    • Roxy Music - Love Is The Drug (DJs Are Not Rockstars Remix) – Pending Release

    Word on the Street...

    "A refreshing alternative to blinkered mainstream hip hop stars." — The Independent

    "(Princess Superstar's) answer to 'Ziggy Stardust and the spiders from Mars' ... A lyrical, musical and narrative success." — DJ

    "An unorthodox and brilliantly daring blend of genres…. At last, Dance Music with personality" — Record Collector

    "Forget your Eminems and all that soft-core shit-have a gander at this!" — Melody Maker

    "Top-Shelf lyrics…dropping pop-culture references with skill and precision, Princess Superstar earns her cocky moniker." 4 Stars — Vibe

    "What's most brilliant are her lyrics, which are laugh-out-loud funny. For where other female rappers do super-explicit sex rhymes, and mirror the witless bravado of their male counterparts, Princess Superstar spins an altogether more playful, ironic line of tease. If her turntables ever seize up, a career in stand-up beckons." — The Times of London

    "Smart, funny, and playfully pornographic. " — Playboy

    "Rarely a second passes without the New Yorker impressing with her dazzling lyrical flow." — Sleazenation

    "With hip-hop needing a sense of humor, look to Princess Superstar for some much-needed laughs." — The Source

    "(Princess Superstar) does it with wit, unexpected imagery and utter lack of respect for genre boundaries. But it's Princess's barbed observations that make this album a bit of a treasure." — The Guardian

    "Positively dripping with postmodern panache." — Alternative Press

    "Her approach is fresh and funny as hell, and the record simply sounds like no others out there." — Time Out New York

    "Just Worship Her!" — DJ Magazine